(photo from here)

I loathe that I even admit to being a team so-and-so, because the very idea of being on a team for a potential fictional boyfriend for a fictional heroine just irks me on so many levels. My love of a character as a potential partner for another character is more than just a shallow attachment to a group of people who like a character for his looks or his charm. My proclivity for any character usually has more depth than that.

But all that to say, I am a part of teams, or a ship supporter for several television shows, both on and off the air. Occasionally for a movie or series of books, but the focus of the first few posts on here will deal with television specifically.

So, Gilmore Girls.

(WARNING: THERE BE SPOILERS AHEAD)

I have to admit, upfront, that I did not finish the full original series. In fact, I’m not entirely sure where I stopped. I believe some point in season six (which will make more sense when I get into my ‘team’), but knowing that season seven was not influenced by the original creators, and that most people don’t like that final season…I didn’t pursue it.

I say this upfront because in order to defend my ‘team’, the reader should know that perhaps my knowledge isn’t complete. That’s up to the reader to care or not care about that.

I watched the revival, A Year in the Life, this past week, and I’m not sure if I’m pleased or furious at the ending. As far as Rory’s choices (boy, she made some horrid ones), I did hope that my choice of ex-boyfriend to match her would be resolved. It was not.

Or was it?

I’ve read and searched responses to the revival, and I admit parts of it felt off. But who didn’t feel off, but felt like growth?

Jess Mariano

gilmore-girls-jess-mariano

(photo credit)

Oh, yeah, I’m team Jess. I have been, I think, even before I saw the show in binge-watch mode because I saw Milo Ventimiglia in some random photo. Yes, he’s attractive. And for the majority of the original run of the show, he fit that intelligent, but bad-boy archetype that makes young girls, who don’t know any better, swoon. He treated Rory terribly in his main arc on the show. I do not defend his choices when he was a teen because although they made sense due to his unstable background, they were bad choices.

But when he shows up in later seasons, although brief, he has grown up. He steers Rory on a better path. He is making something of himself and finding himself in his world. He wrote a book (my heart did melt, I admit). He was, before the show ended, becoming the kind of man one could see Rory with. One that challenged her, and cared for her.

In A Year in the Life, he’s grown up even more. He’s softer with his uncle, Luke Danes. He is working, doing his books and his book press. And in his very first scene on the revival, he once again pushed Rory toward something better. He encourages her and pushes her.

luke-and-jess-share-a-tense-family-moment

(photo credit)

Isn’t that the exact kind of partner any person wants?

And then there’s the ending of A Year in the Life. There is no obvious progress in the relationship between Jess and Rory, but the biggest factor, after the writers have seemingly slammed the door on anything with ex Dean or ex Logan, we have Jess telling Luke that he’s ‘long over’ Rory. But a second later, before leaving the Gilmore house, he glances in the window to see Rory and the shot of his face:

800x400-jess-gilmore-girls-a-year-in-the-life

(photo credit)

This tells us, the audience, very clearly that he is no where near ‘long over’ her. Which makes their story (Jess and Rory) open. Logan goes off and Dean was never an option (kudos to that story line actually). Jess still yearns.

He is the best of her ex-boyfriends, as far as the revival goes. He is best for her, as Logan merely depends on his money and the family name, all the while sleeping with Rory while being engaged to another (Rory’s choices are not awesome either). How can anyone admire that?

So, that ending. The final four words. What does that mean for Rory and her future? Please tell me, that the writers will continue it. But I somehow doubt it.

Whatever happens to Rory and her choices, I just have this strong feeling that Jess will be in her life, supporting, and nudging her in whatever way she allows.

And that thought, my assumption, is probably what will have to sustain me with the question mark left by the writers and Gilmore Girls world.

